Skip Navigation
Town of Deep River Home
This table is used for column layout.

Please help us contact you! Click to sign up here:

Connecticut Emergency Alerting and Notification System
Justices of the Peace
Click here for a list of current Justices of the Peace
Click here for an Application to be appointed an Unaffiliated Justice of the Peace

The number of Justices of the Peace for the Town of Deep River is set by town ordinance at thirty (30). Ten Justices of the Peace are nominated by each of the major parties and ten Justices are chosen per state statute from among the unaffiliated and minor party members. Justices are selected during the year of the Presidential election and serve a four-year term. 

Justices of the Peace

1) Have general oath giving powers (CGS 1-24)

2) May take acknowledgments (CGS 1-29)

3) May join persons in marriage (CSG 46b-22)

4) May take depositions (CGS 52-148c)


The office of Justice of the Peace originated in England and was brought to this country by the early colonists. The office existed in Connecticut in some form from the beginning of the colony.

At one time when this State had a multi-tiered Court system with substantial judicial business being conducted by municipal and city Court judges, the elected Justice of the Peace had substantial authority with respect to the administration of minor Courts in this State. Over the years, the scope of authority of this official has been narrowed so that in 1988 the role of the Justice of the Peace is limited to certain grants of authority enumerated by statute.

Deep River Town Hall • 174 Main Street • Deep River, CT 06417

Phone (860) 526-6020 • Fax (860) 526-6023 • email